Coinage of Afghanistan. The Islamic Republic of Afghanistan is a landlocked country in Central Asia. The capital and largest city is Kabul. Official languages are Persian (Dari) and Pashto. The first Afghan State was established in October 1747. Afghanistan has been invaded, occupied, overrun, and otherwise have been under the control of various empires and countries. Independence from United Kingdom: August 19, 1919. Monetary system: 1 Afghani = 100 Pul.