Currency of Aruba. Aruba is a constituent country that form the Kingdom of the Netherlands. Arubans, together with the people of the Netherlands, Curacao and Sint Maarten, share the single nationality of a Dutch citizen. It is an island of the Lesser Antilles in the South Caribbean. The capital city is Oranjestad. The official languages are Dutch and Papiamento. Gained autonomy from the Netherlands Antilles on January 1, 1986. Monetary system: 1 Florin = 100 Cents.