Honduras (see also Central American Republic)

Coinage of Honduras. The official language of the Republic of Honduras is Spanish; however, English is recognized there as are a number of other indigenous languages such as Garifuna and Miskito. The largest city is Tegucigalpa which is also the co-capital city together with Comayaguela. This Central American country was home to the Mayan culture. Independence from Spain, First Mexican Empire and the Federal Republic of Central America: Declared September 15, 1821; from the First Mexican Empire July 1, 1823; as Honduras, declared November 5, 1838. Monetary system: 1 Peso = 100 Centavos (1871-1926); 1 Lempira = 100 Centavos (1926 to date).