New Hebrides

Currency of New Hebrides. The New Hebrides Condominium, now known as the Republic of Vanuatu, is an island nation in the South Pacific originally settled by the Melanesian people. The capital and largest city is Port Vila. The three official languages are Bislama, English and French. Independence from France and United Kingdom July 30, 1980. Monetary system: 1 Franc = 100 Centimes to 1982, 100 Vatu = 100 Francs from 1982.