Coinage of Timor. Timor is an island in Southeast Asia which is currently divided into independent East Timor and West Timor belonging to the Indonesian province of East Nusa Tenggara. Although 37 indigenous languages are used on the island, the official languages are Tetum and Portuguese in East Timor, and Indonesian in West Timor. The island is still going through political turmoil as the independence movements and Indonesia lay claims to the eastern portion. East Timor, officially the Democratic Republic of Timor Leste, has been independent since May 20, 2002. East Timor: Capital city Dili, independence from Portugal November 28, 1975. West Timor: Capital and largest city Kupang. Monetary system: 1 Pataca = 100 Avos (to 1958); 1 Escudo = 100 Centavos (1958-75); East Timor: US Dollar = 100 Centavos (2000-current, U.S. coinage is also accepted).